Anyone have a decent barbecue sauce recipe?

I'm making pulled pork in the crockpot today. Nothing fancy, just the "throw the pork butt in the crockpot with a bottle of root beer" method. BBQ sauce goes in at the end, but since we're watching out sodium intake in this household, I decided to try a "low sodium bbq sauce" recipe I found online.

I whipped up a batch of it, and while it doesn't taste bad, it also doesn't taste anything bbq sauce to me. The recipe is this one: https://lowsorecipes.com/low-sodium-bbq-sauce-recipe-no-salt-added/

Anyway, it's still a few hours yet before the pulled pork will be ready to have the bbq sauce added, and I was hoping maybe someone had a recipe they've tried that does taste more like bbq sauce, or can maybe recommend what to add to what I've made already to make it better.

I realize that with minimal salt, it's not going to be perfect, but I'd like for it to at least vaguely taste like bbq, hehe. Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

submitted by /u/Hansekins
[link] [comments]

Standard

Leave a comment