birthday

Recently learned about time&temperature tables had question about it?

I recently learned you don’t (and shouldn’t) bring your chicken to the FDA recommended 165 degrees for safe eating, as that’s just extra safe to save their asses from liability. I was wondering though, does it take into account the cooling and/or extra heat coming from the outsides? For example, if I check the temperature at the center of the chicken and it’s at 146 degrees and I take it off heat, do I wait the 2-3 minutes or do I take into account that it might go down from there and give it a few extra minutes?
I get it depends on how thick the piece you’re checking is, but how do you guys do the math? I’d like to get it as juicy as possible and build a process around it to get it exactly that way every time with my own equipment.

submitted by /u/KiwiZ0
[link] [comments]

Standard

Leave a comment